Mission Action Teams

The mission & ministry of St. Mary’s are coordinated by the Church Council through 7 Mission Action Teams. The membership of these are currently as follows :

1. Worshipping and Praying

  • Vicar St Mary’s (Team leader)
  • Karen Ind
  • Karen Inglis-Taylor
  • Jeremy Weaver
  • Veronica Kidd
  • Valerie Lintott

2. Growing As Disciples

  • Vicar St Mary’s (Team Leader)
  • Joyce Brown (Secretary)
  • Alistair Inglis-Taylor
  • Fiona Prentice
  • Lynne Keeble
  • Katherine Potter

3. Caring As A Fellowship

  • Morag Davies (Team Leader)
  • Eve Phillips
  • Val Burgess
  • Elizabeth Hawkins
  • Mandy Masters
  • Manny Holden
  • Christine Bright
  • Win Fruin

4. Serving and Transforming the Community

  • Vicar St Mary’s (Team Leader)
  • Brenda Large
  • Hennie Sleeman
  • Sheila Pilkington
  • Veronica James
  • Maureen Muggleton
  • Kimball Eady
  • Pauline Welch

5. Proclaiming the Gospel

  • Vicar St Mary’s (Team Leader)
  • Pam Dexter
  • Tim Fifield
  • Richard Herrington
  • Martin Malyon

6. Administration and Finance

  • Steve Benson (Team Leader)
  • Alison Carre
  • Denise Herrington
  • Jonathan Powell
  • Linda Emery – Stewardship only
  • Peter Fruin

7. Buildings and Fabric

  • Marcus Newton (Team Leader)
  • Steve Benson
  • Jane Gorrie
  • Paul Kirkbride
  • Nigel Stalley
  • Michael Lickiss
  • Francois Van Schalkwyk

How the Mission Action Teams work at St. Mary’s

Each team carries out its annual objectives (as adopted in our Mission Action Plan or “MAP”) & reports back to the Church Council through representatives on the Council. It in turn has oversight of all the appropriate ministries (including any other groups, teams & councils) that are designated to it – thereby covering every facet of the ministry & mission of St. Mary’s.

Within the Church Council an additional Leadership Team (“LT”) exercises general spiritual leadership & oversight at St. Mary’s. The LT oversees MAP implementation on behalf of the Church Council, & LT members typically chair the other 7 Mission Action Teams. The LT is currently made up of the clergy and churchwardens, but may later expand to include further laity (the congregation being consulted to help recognise whom the members should be).

Every member of the Church Council will thus expect to serve on one (possibly two) of these Mission Action Teams (analogous to sub committees) as part of their duties. This structure, and our annual MAP objectives, provide the structure for our Church budget, accounts and AGM – with each Team reporting on progress in order to achieve clear understanding and a co-ordinated approach to our growth in ministry & mission.